PRESS RELEASE: Golden Baobab Prize Winners Named

The 2012 winners of the Golden Baobab Prize, a leading African literary award, have been announced. This year Joy Nwiyi of Nigeria, Jenny Robson of South Africa and Botswana, and Rutendo Chabikwa of Zimbabwe were selected as the distinguished winners by a prestigious panel of judges. They join the growing circle of promising authors chosen by the Golden Baobab Prize, which is the only prize of its kind. It is awarded annually to inspire the creation of quality African literature to be enjoyed by youth readers in Africa and around the world. The prize offers a monetary award to its winners and connects outstanding stories with an array of African and international publishers. 

This year, Nwiyi’s Something for Next Time won her the Golden Baobab Prize for the best story written for ages 12-15 years. Robson’s Wha-Zup Dude? was named the Golden Baobab winner for the best story written for ages 8-11 years. Finally, Chabikwa’s A Healing Adventure and Letters from the City earned her the Golden Baobab Rising Writer Prize, which is given to a young writer, 18 years or under, who shows exceptional literary promise for his or her age.

The 2012 Golden Baobab Prize Honorable Mentions for the Junior Category (stories targeted at readers 8-11 years):

Yaba Badoe (Ghana), The Fish-Man of Purple Lake
Daniel Ansah Akrofi (Ghana), The Stray
Yaba Badoe of (Ghana), The Fisherman's Daughter

The 2012 Golden Baobab Prize Honorable Mentions for the Senior Category (stories targeted at readers 12-15 years):

Gothataone Moeng (Botswana), Absolute Truth about Red Mite 
Sedem Agbolosu (Ghana), Transfiguration

The 2012 Golden Baobab Rising Writer Prize Honorable Mention (for a promising writer 18 years and younger):

    Sarah Juma (Nigeria), Grey Marine

The 2012 Golden Baobab Prize featured a panel of renowned judges. They are CNN Hero and children’s librarian Yohannes Gebregeorgis, international children’s librarian Tanja Galetti, award-winning young African writer Kopano Matlwa, esteemed scholar Vivian Yenika Agbaw, South African children’s publisher Carol Broomhall, and acclaimed writer of African children's stories Atinuke Akinyemi-Sears. 

The mission of the Golden Baobab Prize is to ensure the creation of high quality literary content for children and young adults by discovering, nurturing, and promoting African talent.  

For further information, photos, or to arrange interviews, please contact Deborah Ahenkorah via our website, Facebook, or Twitter.